When the Impossible Turns Out to be…Impossible

I’m a great believer in overcoming “impossibilities” but even hard-working eternal optimists get hit with the reality that impossible sometimes exists. Tristar MGA is closing her doors on February 15, 2012 after 21 years and those of us who believed in her are trying to find new homes for our clients as well as for ourselves and each other.

One of the best qualities of Tristar MGA was the love her employees had for her. We took 16% cut in pay three years ago, worked long days and every weekend without any overtime pay in order to help her survive. As far as I know, none of us looked for jobs during these difficult years…we genuinely wanted Tristar to recover. Every lay-off brought more heartbreak but I don’t think any of us ever gave up until Tuesday, February 1, 2012 when we were told it’s over and we have 2 weeks to close everything up.

That day we started looking after our clients, knowing we had to get the work we’d done to someone that could take over for us. None of us wanted all that hard work and sacrifice to get lost. Right or wrong we had invested in this company as though it were our own and it matters to me and I think to most of us that Tristar closes it’s doors only AFTER her clients have found a new servicing agency.

Fortunately, Tristar partners with Allied Solutions and now with WNC First. Our clients can now be cleanly transferred to another agency that will be able to provide the same level of service using the same tracking system we’ve been using. The impossible has once again become possible…in less than two weeks we will be able to shift our services from Tristar to our partners without losing data integrity and with minimal negative impact to our clients.

Yes, we’re processing all the expected emotions, sadness, regret, anger, fears…but we’re still working overtime and still focused on making sure the data we transfer to Allied Solutions and WNC First is clean and up to date.

…Tristar may not have a reputation to protect but we’re individuals now and my reputation is at stake too. That makes me mad but anger is energy and it’s turning into determination to protect the work I’ve done here.  So it’s Saturday but I’m shutting my laptop down and will be on my work computer for the rest of the morning and into the afternoon. I’ll be back on it tomorrow so I’ll be better prepared for my last full week as QC Manager at Tristar MGA.

Stacy Brown 😦

About Wait! Wait! I've Got an Idea!

I love to talk about what makes us squirm...that's always where the truth is.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Corporate Culture, Failure, Insurance Industry, Professional Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

