Business Theory

You see them all the time…one article after another on business theory: optimism, realism, passion, perseverance. There is a lot of theory out there and some of it works some of the time but these are just theories and the complexities mean none of them work all the time. Ultimately, you take what you have in front of you and work with it.

  • Gather your facts. Be clinical and leave emotion out of the analysis. Once you allow fears or hopes to enter this analysis you’ve contaminated it and it’s less valuable.
  • Know your fears and hopes so they don’t subconsciously get in the way…and they will.
  • List your assets. People? Financial assets? Location? Partnerships?
  • List your liabilities. What’s holding you back? Opposition? Location? Debts?

These are basics. Right now I’m in a new situation and everything has to be redefined. The landscape has changed which means I’m in the process of coming to know my environment. What are my limitations? What are my assets? What partnerships survived the change? Which ones didn’t?

I’m still an analyzer but the work I’ve done in the past needs to be re-evaluated because the game has changed. I need a new game plan.

Stacy Brown

About Wait! Wait! I've Got an Idea!

I love to talk about what makes us squirm...that's always where the truth is.
This entry was posted in Observation, Professional Life, Self Examination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

